Skip to main content
Contact center employees working on computers

On December 13, 2021, the White House issued a new Executive Order, Transforming Federal Customer Experience and Service Delivery to Rebuild Trust in Government. As the title of the order demonstrates, customer service and customer experience (CX) are at the top of the administration’s agenda.

This action is aimed at improving the government’s service delivery to its many millions of customers. It also elevates our government’s commitment to making government experiences equitable for all people, easier, faster, and more efficient.

The order explains the government’s designation of 35 High-Impact Service Providers within federal agencies as key service providers. The designations were made based on the volume and types of benefits, services, and programs the providers deliver to the public. Retirement, tax filing, disaster relief, travel, and safety net services are among the programs managed by the 35 designated providers, which include the Social Security Administration, the IRS, FEMA, TSA, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and more.

The customer-centric actions called for in the Executive Order include:

  • Modernizing programs
  • Reducing administrative burdens
  • Piloting new tools and technologies that can provide a simple, secure customer experience

By directing federal agencies to put people at the center of services and programs, the order intends to ensure that government is effective, equitable, and accountable in meeting the needs of its people.

A commitment to customer-centricity relies on prioritizing the needs of customers and designing services with those needs in mind. It also relies on leveraging technology to drive better experiences among the communities served.

By placing people at the center of the mission, transformative impact in the delivery of government services is possible.

Learn more about our federal services and solutions.